You’re Nobody Till Somebody Loves You

The first of many cover songs I’ll be making over the next few months. This one as requested by Guitarsex69. Got a request? Leave it in the comments.

Shot and recorded in one take using an SE 2000 Condenser Microphone and Cubase LE 4. No pitch correction software was used in the making of this video (even though it bloody well needs some!)

So, everyone’s playing the ukulele and everyone’s covering popular songs. Never let it be known that Jimmy Richards is afraid of jumping on a bandwagon!.

I was always a fan of this song. I probably heard it first when I was a kid and kept in sloshing about in my memory till now. When I was growing up, there was always some sort of crooning going on in the house, either from the record player or as I remember it, my uncle Richard occasionally busting out his rendition of “Ruby” at family gatherings. It later developed during my musical theatre phase, when I was learning to sing like Bobby Darin and Frank Sinatra at high school. Later, my love of the old crooners developed into my lifelong obsession with the voices of David Bowie and Freddy Mercury, who I’ll probably end up covering later on in this series.

The really beautiful thing about this song is that it translates so well into the ukulele arrangement. I’ve always said the mark of a great song is whether you can take it to a totally different instrument and it still works just as well. This is one of those songs. Having said that, the awkwardness of my tiny ukulele made some of the chords very difficult to pull off. I think I got there in the end though.

Stay tuned to my Youtube channel for more of these cover videos, and remember if you have any requests for future videos drop us a line in the comments.

One thought on “You’re Nobody Till Somebody Loves You

Leave a Reply

