This was a triumph!: My thoughts on Portal 2

Wow.

Just that. Wow.

That is all.

Well, not really. Let me elaborate after the cut…

So I just finished Portal 2 last night, then me and Bob did a speed run of the co-op, and my mind is literally blown. Here’s a few thoughts I had on the subject.

Firstly, compared to the first game, it was huge! The first Portal really felt like it was an add-on. Well, it was an add-on, I guess, being just some extra content thrown into Orange Box. Or so we thought. But it’s grown so much since then. The single player mode took me the best part of 3 days, when the first game took me an afternoon. Even then, there was so much stuff I missed, like the Rat Man rooms and whatnot, that I’m now gonna have to go back and do again just to get the entire experience. The co-op, which I was really worried about pre-release, actually turned out to be one of the best parts of the game. It doesn’t help that the little buggers you play as are probably two of the cutest robots this side of a galaxy far far away.

And the voice acting. Ugh! I just want Stephen Merchant and Ellen McClean to talk to me continuously all day. I’m hearing GLaDOS narrate the more mundane parts of my life, and mocking me for ignoring the science! Ok, maybe that’s a bit obsessive. I should go lie down.

And the writing? Top freakin’ notch! But what else do you expect from a Valve game?

All in all, the game’s fantastic. It’s probably going to be my go-to for the next couple of months till Arkham City. About then I should have finally found absolutely everything in the game, but who knows. They are talking about DLC, and I can always dream of another sequel, while I’m at it…

Have you played it yet? Loved the original? Tell me what you think in the comments!

Leave a Reply

