To Academia, but not about her…

We’ve just had the least festive christmas season I can remember.

Don’t get me wrong: I’m grateful for having had some time to kick back and hang out with the family. But with the weather having essentially brought most of the country to a standstill for a few weeks, Christmas just became another thing on the to-do list this year.

Kinda like my dissertation.

I wasn’t intending to sit my honours this year. The plan was to take a year out, work on a few projects, actually do some work in the industry (considering my career came to a dead stop during my third year) and get myself some real world time, before returning (hopefully) refreshed and ready to take on that gargantuan academic conquest that is my dissertation.

But things didn’t happen the way I thought. Some things fell through, and the prospects of building any sort of concrete business in 8 months looked grim. Besides, at least having that certificate, and a few extra letters after my name, meant that the last three years would at least have produced some tangible results. I even managed to find a dissertation topic that, seemingly, wouldn’t kill me.

Now, I kinda wish I’d taken the year out after all.

This isn’t anything new. I have this sort of academic paranoia that always sets in around this time of year. I’m looking at the other opportunities that have presented themselves and thinking “I could do that, if only I didn’t have this degree I’m trying to earn”. It’s like creative industries wanderlust, when you think about it.

Thankfully, this year I actually have some concrete plans. Pure Tunes has actually developed itself into a workable business model, and could actually become economically viable a lot faster than I’d originally anticipated. As for my high hopes of being a performing musician… well, that leaves something to be desired, but I’m still working on it.

So while you’re indulging in a little bit of festive cheer, please spare a thought for us panicking students of the creative industries. I’m pretty sure I’m not the only one shitting bricks over my career just now.

Aren’t I?

Leave a Reply

