Quit Facebook? Really?

Let’s face it: user privacy on facebook doesn’t really exist past a point. We get that now. We’ve all become accustomed to the fact our data is being extrapolated by advertisers so that they can better target their products online. We know that your mum, if she’s a friend on the site, will know how many of those “I ❤ Boobs” pages you’re a fan of (or “like” as it has become now). And we all knew that, at some point, we’d be left with a choice: deal with it, or go elsewhere.

Some have gone as far as to make this position official. This article details the plot: a mass exodus of Facebook, scheduled for May 31st. The movement’s gathering momentum, but as of writing, only about 1200 people have committed to the plan (according to quitfacebookday.com, the operation’s homepage).

Question of the day: let’s say, for arguement’s sake, that we all up and leave facebook. What then? Where do the huddling masses wander off to then? Myspace has proved to be a bit of a joke. Bebo is constantly rumoured to be going out of business. Where else is there? Are we just to wander around the proverbial desert for 40 years, searching for the social networking equivalent of the land of milk and honey?

(And what if some of those users are vegan? This analogy has gotten a little out of hand…)

Sure, there’s the hopes that a new, open alternative to facebook is coming soon. I look forward to it, I really do. But will it be any good?

Not to piss on your parade, guys, but I think I’ll stick around and see where kids head off to next. Social networkers vote with their feet. If they don’t like what you’re pushing, they’ll move on. We saw this with the original shift from Myspace to Facebook back in it’s heyday. Surely, when the next big thing hits, we’ll all take notice.

Until then, I’ll be here avoiding people playing Farmville…

2 thoughts on “Quit Facebook? Really?

  1. I like facebook. I know it uses my details for things, so I don’t give them details I don’t want them to have. And if my Step-Dad sees things I post, it’s my fault for adding him…

  2. Pingback: Tweets that mention Quit Facebook? Really? | Jimmy Richards Music -- Topsy.com

Leave a Reply

